Select Page

Become a better animator

Animator Island is a treasure trove of animation secrets, techniques, tips, and information on your quest to become a Master Animator. Our goal is to inspire you, dear artist, to reach new heights of movement, acting, and storytelling to propel the great medium of animation to exciting and brilliant new places.

How to Deal With Feedback as an Artist

How to handle feedback as an artist no matter if it's good, bad, or ugly!

Any time you put a piece of creative work out into the world you open yourself up to feedback from others. Feedback of all kinds. Today we take a look at several different types of feedback and how best to respond to the good, the bad, and the downright mean.

Read More

Meet us Live on twitch – November 3rd

[getTwitchRail] To celebrate Animator Island’s 5 year anniversary we will have our first ever live stream at 1pm PDT (LA), 3pm CDT (Chicago), 4pm EDT (New York), 9pm CET (Europe). Join JK and me on twitch for discussing all things animation, get some questions...

Contrast makes your art stand out

Contrast can improve many aspect of your art and animation: Your posing, your timing, your staging – even your storytelling. Find out how you can unleash the power of...

Newsletter

Get your free fix of know-how and inspiration every two to three weeks right to your inbox!

Physics in Animation: Action-Reaction

physics-6-action-reaction

To conclude his wonderful series on Animation Physics, professor Alejandro Garcia takes a look at one of the most known principles in physics: Action-Reaction. This article clears up some common misconceptions and helps you to add some punch to your animation (one that creates a proper reaction that is).

read more…

3 Crucial Tips for Cinematic Authors

fmx-2016-ii-dominios

Okay guys, so our last FMX 2016 article covered some specific tips to consider when creating characters for your films. Now we’re going to look at some general story creation advice that you should keep in mind from conception to final product. Ready? Here comes some more lightning quick tips expanded on from advice given by FMX speaker Christopher Lockhart in his lecture Could Your Story be a Movie?:

read more…

Love Your Characters – more quick FMX story tips

CharacterCreationTips-Banner

Last time in the FMX 2016 lecture series we discussed four story elements that help define your protagonist. For the next two articles, we’ll be focusing on a few things to keep in mind as you begin creating your story and your characters. The advice in this article is summarized and expanded upon from the FMX lectures given by USTAR Professor Craig Caldwell in his master class on story, and from speaker Christopher Lockhart (story editor at WME) in his lecture on cinematic stories. So, let’s get right into it with these quick and inspiring expert tips!

read more…